AAWL hosts banquet, awards scholarship recipients

April 15-21, 2019

On April 5, 2019, members of the Arkansas Association of Women Lawyers (AAWL) gathered at the Little Rock Club to celebrate their annual scholarship winners. 


At the event, AAWL hosted guest speaker Joann Maxey, General Counsel of University of Arkansas System.


This year AAWL was able to award five scholarships, each to young women lawyers who are students at the UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law. This year’s recipients are Dakota Thornbury, Margaret Rushing, Sydney Rasch, Victoria Percifield, and Aashika Jayanth. 


Each scholarship recipient was awarded a $2000 Bar preparation scholarship. 


About AAWL


Formed in 1938, AAWL is dedicated to promoting the interests of women in the law. Comprised of attorneys, judges, and law students, AAWL has many purposes, including furthering the interests of women lawyers and their service to the legal profession, fostering public service and high standards of conduct, and encouraging the legal profession and its individual members to perform and to discharge more effectively their responsibilities in the public interest. For more information about AAWL, please visit our website at www.arwomenlawyers.org.


Source: AAWL 




The 2019 AAWL Bar Preparation scholarship winners are Dakota Thornbury, Margaret Rushing, Sydney Rasch, Victoria Percifield, and Aashika Jayanth.  (Photo provided)